Home FAQ Search Memberlist User Groups Register Login   

BloggingTories.ca Forum IndexBloggingTories.ca Forum Index
    Index     FAQ     Search     Register     Login         JOIN THE DISCUSSION - CLICK HERE      

*NEW* Login or register using your Facebook account.

Not a member? Join the fastest growing conservative community!
Membership is free and takes 15 seconds

CLICK HERE or use Facebook to login or register ----> Connect

View previous topic :: View next topic  
concerned

Reputation: 42.1Reputation: 42.1Reputation: 42.1Reputation: 42.1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:29 am    Post subject: Copenhagen/Public School/Need Advice Reply with quote

First of all I have to state that I am a teacher in a public school. I'm sure there are a lot of people on this forum who dislike teachers. That is very understandable as there are many teachers that I dislike. However, there are plenty of good teachers out there.

With this Copenhagen Summit going on this week, a couple of teachers in my school thought it was the perfect time to turn students into activists. A huge petition was out insisting that something serious needs to get done in Copenhagen to save our planet, and a number of teachers and students in my school signed it. I was very disappointed because I believe schools should focus on educating, not promoting a certain teachers political agenda by teaching kids to become activists.

Now I don't put much merit in petitions. As a matter of fact, I asked a number of students who signed it why they signed it. Almost every student said they didn't know why they signed it, or they signed it because someone told them to. Yet it still bugs me tremendously that this went on in my school. I could understand and would be OK with it if the students, on their own, wanted to do something like this. However, the teacher started this project.